Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University
Center for Veterinary Health Sciences

Healthy Animals - Healthy People

AABP Amstutz Bull

Friday, October 27 2017

AABP group

Pictured above (left to right) are: Dr. Jared Taylor, Tara Ediger, Lindsey Thomasson, Dr. John Gilliam, Dr. Melanie Boileau, Tanner Leon, Ashley Wick, RVT, Shannon Van der Laan, Sam Anthony, Arantxa Lasa, RVT, Dr. Robert Streeter, Dr. Jennifer Halleran, resident, and Dr. Sally Venable, intern.

The American Association of Bovine Practitioners Amstutz Bull isn’t just any ordinary bull. The sculpture represents an investment in the future of veterinary bovine practitioners.

“Possession of the bull goes to the highest bidder at a fundraiser for the Amstutz Scholarship, which is the most prestigious veterinary student recognition offered by the AABP,” explains Dr. Jared Taylor, associate professor in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology at Oklahoma State University’s Center for Veterinary Health Sciences. “One of our alumni, Dr. Tom Reece, was part of the acquisition group that brought the sculpture to OSU.”

Several members of the student chapter of AABP, food animal clinicians, veterinary technicians, and house officers took some parting photos with the AABP Amstutz Bull before it went on the auction block at the 2017 AABP Annual Conference in Omaha, Neb., where it raised $46,000 for the scholarship.

If you would like more information on supporting the veterinary student chapter of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners or the food animal medicine and surgery service at OSU’s Veterinary Medical Hospital, please contact Chris Sitz, senior director of development with the OSU Foundation, at or (405) 385-5170.

AABP group

Pictured above (left to right) are: Tanner Leon (’20), Tara Ediger (’19), Sam Anthony (’20), Dr. Robert Streeter, Shannon Van der Laan (’20), Ida Hrbacek (’20), Dr. Jared Taylor, Emily Arsola (’19) and Lindsey Thomasson (’19).

AABP group

Pictured above with resident cow, Daisy, are (left to right): Sam Anthony, Shannon Van der Laan, Tanner Leon, Dr. Robert Streeter, Dr. Jared Taylor, Dr. Melanie Boileau, Tara Ediger, Dr. John Gilliam, and Lindsey Thomasson.


A visiting bull even showed some interest in the AABP Amstutz Bull!

Contact: Derinda Blakeney, APR | OSU Center for Veterinary Health Sciences | 405-744-6740 |