Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University
Center for Veterinary Health Sciences

Healthy Animals - Healthy People

Open House Hits Record Attendance

Monday, April 4 2016

horse with it's hone structure painted on it's side

More than 1,250 people recently attended Open House at Oklahoma State University’s Center for Veterinary Health Sciences. That’s the highest attendance ever recorded for this event.

Participants enjoyed many live animal demonstrations, a variety of educational exhibits, hands on displays and fun activities.

A silent auction raised more than $1,140 for the Avian, Exotics and Zoo Medicine Service at OSU’s Veterinary Medical Hospital. These funds will help cover the cost of treating wildlife cases.

This annual event is organized by admissions coordinator Anna Teague and a committee of student volunteers. This year’s event was chaired by Kara Reinhart with Zach Croslin as assistant chair. The chairs, the committee chairs and their team members listed below succeeded in putting on a wonderful event for the community and those interested in veterinary medicine.


Class/Club Committee

Ashley Chandler and Jeff Olivarez, co-chairs


Technology Committee

                Elise Durville and Kelsey Walker, co-chairs

                Paul Bouchereau


Hospital – Neurology Committee

                Bayley Fuller, chair

                Kylie Byrd

                Amanda Hunter

                Casey Landis

                Laura Lynn

                Ashley Supan

Hospital – Internal Medicine Committee

                Kate Gault, chair

                Peter Czajkowski

                Logan Kembel

                Olivia Shoup

                Alexis Sirois


Hospital – Diagnostic Imaging Committee

                Sarah George, co-chair

                Kelsey Ledbetter, co-chair

                Paige Hafner

                Cassandra Rodenbaugh


Hospital – Anesthesiology Committee

                Kaitlyn Gregg, chair

                Susan Gleason

                Natalie Hildinger

                Brittany Propst


Fundraising Committee

                Sarah Myers, chair

                Mary Girton

Courtney Leibering

                Kayla Marvin

                Chelsea Walker


Events and Presentations Committee

                Stasha Ryland, co-chair

                Mackenzie Jochim, co-chair

                Ashley Adair

                Julia Bumberry

                Amanda Utt

                Karson Walker

                Eric Walther

                Amy Weir


Public Relations Committee

                Rachael Scott, chair

                Miranda Anthony

                Kelsey Bentz

                Tara Ediger


First Years Anatomy Display

                Alexis Sirois, chair


Second Years Parasitology Display

                Nick Thompson, chair


Third Years Teddy Bear Surgery

                Cameron Smithee, chair


Hospital – Physical Therapy Committee

                Courtney Tewary, chair

                Kaitlyn Belanger

                Mary Beth Davis

                Katie Holley

                Kendra Huseman

                Carly Schueler


Hospital – Ophthalmology Committee

                Christine Toffoli, chair


To see some of the highlights, watch this short video Open House 2016.

Contact: Derinda Blakeney, APR | OSU Center for Veterinary Health Sciences | 405-744-6740 |