Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University
Center For Veterinary Health Sciences

Healthy Animals - Healthy People

Veterinary Center Wins Grand 3 Minute Challenge

Tuesday, June 26, 2018

The President's Fellows Grand Three Minute Challenge trophy

Congratulations to Oklahoma State University Center for Veterinary Health Sciences’ Graduate Program! For the second year in a row, these graduate students have won the President’s Fellow Grand Three Minute Challenge.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT™) is a research communication competition developed by the University of Queensland in Australia in 2008. An 80,000-word thesis would take nine hours to present. This competition trains students to orally present their research and its relevance to a non-specialist audience in an understandable and concise manner in exactly three minutes. OSU’s first 3MT competition took place in 2013.

Today OSU sponsors a Three Minute Presentation (3MP) for students in non-thesis degree programs. The 3MT and 3MP hold competitions at the departmental level to determine who competes at the university level. The top winners of each at the university level go on to compete against each other to be the ultimate Three Minute Challenge winner.

The Veterinary Biomedical Sciences graduate program held its first 3MT competition in the spring of 2014 with nine students competing. The program has continued to grow with nearly 50 students competing overall. Three of the veterinary center’s students have won a first place, second place and people’s choice award at the university-level competitions. In 2015, the Graduate College created a traveling trophy to be awarded to the program on campus with the highest percentage of overall participation in all the Three Minute competitions combined. The Veterinary Biomedical Sciences graduate program has won this trophy for the last two years!

The Three Minute Competitions provide a great opportunity for students to prepare for oral presentations in their academic and professional careers as well as winning substantial cash prizes. Congratulations to all graduate students and academic advisors involved in this program!